A Review of "Slide" Cat Litter - PetHelpful - By fellow animal lovers and experts
Updated date:

A Review of "Slide" Cat Litter

As a cat owner, I understand the importance of having litter boxes that don't smell and are easy to clean.

As a proud cat mama, I know my cat little—so I decided to try a new brand to see if it lived up to the hype.

As a proud cat mama, I know my cat little—so I decided to try a new brand to see if it lived up to the hype.

The Competition

I am a parent of two cats, so trying to keep the odor under control can be a chore. But products out there are offering to make it less of a chore, and I'm here to tell you if it works.

My favorite cat litter thus far has been Fresh Step with Febreze, and that's mostly because of the scent that emanates as I pour the fresh litter. What I didn't like, however, was that the scent lasted for only about a day. The fresh fragrance was easily replaced with the smell of poo, urine, and the dust that swirled around.

This new and unpleasant smell seemed to last forever in the home. And of course, the clumping that happens on the bottom of the pan makes changing the cat litter icky.

Arm and Hammer introduced a litter called "Slide" that claims to prevent clumping. But does it work?

"Slide" Clumping Litter

"Slide" Clumping Litter

What Slide Did for Me

So I emptied the old litter (after scraping and scrubbing of course) and poured in the Slide and waited.

  • The first thing I noticed was no dust! It came out just like sand with no dust choking out my lungs.
  • The second thing to note was the scent. There are no flowery feel-good smells going on here, but on the second day of use, I noticed its odor-neutralizing power. Normally, I could smell the cat box from the top of the steps, but with Slide, I don't smell it until I'm right up on it.
  • Another benefit of this litter is that the cats don't spread it as far as they climb in and out. The litter does not stick to their paws and leave a trail from the box up the stairs as other litters do.

For one week, I scooped the top clumps without scraping the bottom to see if indeed it was the number one no-clump litter. It is! The litter does not clump very much at all and it was easy to clean out of the box.

This article is accurate and true to the best of the author’s knowledge. It is not meant to substitute for diagnosis, prognosis, treatment, prescription, or formal and individualized advice from a veterinary medical professional. Animals exhibiting signs and symptoms of distress should be seen by a veterinarian immediately.

Comments

Michael on March 25, 2019:

Would you spray your cats with Teflon? Stay away from these toxic chemicals.

Kelly on February 04, 2019:

I changed to this litter as well and it is amazing and I recommend it to all of my customers since I work in pet retail

Christine on November 14, 2018:

I love it but sooooooo tracking everywhere in my house have 4 cats

Lacy1893 on September 26, 2018:

I adore Slide litter and hope I never have to use another kind. I can’t stand the floral scent of some of the other litters, so Slides scent is great for me. I guess it’s a matter of opinion. Most importantly, it is so easy to get out of the box. You can scoop, reach in with gloves and pick up clumps, or turn completely over and it all pops out. It’s amazing!! I have two cats and they are happy to share a litter box with Slide!!

David Hamer on September 18, 2018:

I am 57 and do not remember a time where we didn't have cats and a litter box. We started using your cat litter a couple of weeks ago We are down to one cat who likes to use the edge of the litter box. It often sticks to the side of the litter box. So we tried your litter that slides right out. I have never had as hard a time as I did trying to get the litter unstuck from the side of the box. i rarely comment on a product but this one did exactly the opposite of what it was supposed to do.

Wayne hughes on August 26, 2018:

They show you on TV how it slide right out of litter box what a joke I try everyone thank to my wife and it so wet I had to buy a chisel to remove it i’ll Go back to clay litter at least that don’t get as heavy as your stuff

Joan on July 28, 2018:

Slide is great. NOTHING sticks to the litter box and if it does a slight push from the scoop loosens it. Rarely happens but then I clean my box every day, "Multi cat" is the best one for odor. I use a large plastic measuring cup to scoop the litter out of the box instead of trying to lift a heavy box. My cat does not track litter around the house.

Donna on June 30, 2018:

Thought I would give this a try as I have been using the World’s Best Cat Litter and it’s very expensive. First, the litter does not slide, it has to be scraped out of the litter box and doesn’t even clump well. It’s like mud. And I clean the litter box daily. I tried mixing it with some of my usual litter and it’s a bit better. Secondly, the container is so unwieldly to use. It’s heavy and awkward to pour into the litter box. I don’t like the fragrance of the litter. I will not buy again. The worse litter I have ever used.

Anne on May 11, 2018:

I must say the only plus I can give this litter is that it doesn’t stick to the litter pan. I thoroughly clean the litter every day, sometimes twice, so there is nothing in there to cause an odor. But the scent of the litter itself is unbearable. I will have to go back to some other litter cause I cannot stand the stink of this litter. You need to have another look at improving your litter. My tiny cat tracks the litter everywhere and I’m constantly having to clean it up. I like the concept of the litter but the smell is unacceptable. Try adding just baking soda and no scent.

Allison Peabody on May 08, 2018:

Arm and Hammer Slide is great for scooping, sure. However, outside of the box the cats track it all over the house. After a week of use a smell akin to mold or mildew is permeating the entire house. The litter box gets scooped everyday so this stink is coming from the actual litter itself. My partner says it smells bad straight from the box. Anyone who says this smells good either lives in filth or has no idea what good smells like. I think using actual mold might be an improvement over the stench this stuff makes. No thanks, going back to Fresh Step.

Jean on May 05, 2018:

This does not slide and it ruined the litter box

Janie on April 03, 2018:

I liked the "SLIDE" action but the design of the box is horrible, I had to balance it on something , the handle is not far enough back to give you leverage . tried 3 boxes --wont try again.

joyce on March 25, 2018:

We have 4 cats, and initially, I very much enjoyed the Slide litter, such easy clean up! After a few months, my Siamese began having hair loss on his belly, tail and legs. Took him to the vet, healthy as a horse. Maybe dust mites in the new cat beds, maybe the new litter?? Washed the cat beds and changed litter. Azul on steroids was getting better! Tried the Slide again, and now he is losing hair again =(,

kathy on March 21, 2018:

I purchased this litter twice now. I have one cat. I was not impressed. I did like the clean up but the odor control is not good. supposed to last for a week. Not a chance both times after a couple of days the odor was not good. I am going back to the litter from our pet store. I consider my purchase of this product a waste of money.

wbrockstar on January 29, 2018:

I just bought Slide,but haven't opened the box yet and after some of these comments I probably won't. I still haven't got an answer whether this litter has sodium bentonite or not.Alot of clumping litters do.Whether youve heard about it or not and whether you believe it or not,I can say with 1000% certainty that Sodium Bentonite DOES KILL CATS.So for anybody that has cats and/or kittens,cares about their health & safety & doesnt wanna watch them suffer the most excruciating death youll ever see your best friend go through, stop using the litter immediately if it contains this ingredient.It blows my mind that something as dangerous as this is allowed to be sold.Litter sticks to a cats paws on a regular basis and eventhough people use litter everyday and never see an emergency occur,related to this ingredient, it doesn't mean it cant/wont happen in the future. This ingredient swells up to 15-18 times its size once moisture hits it.If it enters your cats system in enough quantity,and believe me it doesn'ttmuch,it will prove fatal as it did with my boy Smokey.It's like ingesting wet concrete then letting it set up.Imagine what happens next,now that its coated your esophagus,stomach,intestines,

colon and not to mention your lungs,due to the dust you have breathed in.Im not gonna go into detail about the horrendous things I saw during the last 20-30 minutes of his life,but I can promise you,its something that'll haunt you for the rest of your life.Thank You All for taking the time to read this and keep your pets away from this stuff,if you love em like I do. WBRock

Lynn on January 24, 2018:

My cat lost tons of hair and has a bare stomach and legs. Climbs of hair fall out.

trish on January 17, 2018:

Thought I would try this cat litter out, 3 cats, i like not having to scrap sides, but 1 cat is losing his hair on stomach and legs. He is going to vet tomorrow for blood work, but have since switched back to old litter. Hoping its a litter issue and not an internal issue.

Nancy on January 02, 2018:

My one cat is full of sores and lost a bunch of fur around her behind has alot of skin irritation and I just incurred a vet bill of $250 to get her checked out and the cost of prescriptions for her, and she started not wanting to go in the box and would go on the floor outside the box. Awful stuff

Ollie Condon on December 29, 2017:

My cat had allergic reaction she lost a lot of weight, she lost her hair.

Lizabeth C. on December 26, 2017:

I agree with Kim. The clumps do not stick, which is great, but it is terrible at odor control. I'm back to Fresh Step.

LauraSue G. on December 11, 2017:

Slide is awful!!! My cat lost all her hair on her backside...what ever is in it caused a terrible allergic reaction...I threw the half of box that was left out(I tried to give it away but no one wanted it)...so in addition to my cat losing her hair, I lost money. I would not recommend buying this product if you value your cats health!!!

Lisa B. on November 23, 2017:

We use slide and have 14 cats. The litter clumps great but like someone else less commem

Not some of my cats are sneezing others throwing up. Seriously thinking it's the litter. Wondered if there's silicone or what in the litter. Am going to go back to clump and seal and get away from the slide.

Joan on November 11, 2017:

I figured I would give Slide a try. Slide is great. No "dust" when you put it into the litter box. It clumps great. Some times a clump sticks to the bottom but a slight tap with the scoop and it is loose and scoops right out. There is no smell even right after my cat uses the box. I use to use Fresh Step and when I cleaned the litter box each day I would have to put some baking soda and spread around and then burn a small match to get rid of the odor. I am staying with Slide.

Lynne ivosevich on November 04, 2017:

I have tried the litter and I have six cats! No problem there! But now my cats and getting sneezing and rispertory problems! So I was thinking about that! I usually buy tidy cat and that's what I am going back to!

Carol Jovi on September 29, 2017:

This product is very bad. It does not clump in one large clump but many small pebble clumps. The worst part is my cat is losing all fur on his paws from whatever ingredient makes it clump....Worst on the paw he uses to cover. I would NEVER buy this again. This product is going into the trash after 4 days of use. NO STARS

Kim on September 11, 2017:

This stuff is horrible!!! Yes, it slides. The odor is ungodly! My house smells so bad, I want to move. What a waste of money. Need to dump it all and go back to other litter. The litter itself is way too perfumey. My house smells like perfumed poop even after scooping. HORRIBLE!!! WASTE OF MONEY!!!!

Roxie on August 26, 2017:

I used this kitty litter for the first time. My cat doesn't seem to mind it and I don't mind it and it's really easy to clean the bottom of the litter box. I wonder two things though, first is it safe to use? Meaning are there chemicals in it that can harm the cat? I've used clumping litter for years and my cat's fine but what is it that makes Glide, glide?

My second question is, is the box recyclable? It doesn't say.

cat lover in NC on August 23, 2017:

I like the liter because of "no dust" but I am on a fixed

income and it is too expensive for me.

Have to use a whole box to just have enough to cover the bottom of the liter box.

I use one or two boxes a week, just too much money for me !

What is this about not being safe ???

cat owner on August 10, 2017:

I have used a lot of cat litter in my life this is the worst I have every used smelled bad and the litter box is harder to clean out. But to each there own.

brhairbreyes on August 08, 2017:

I mix Slide with another litter. sticks a little, but not like the 2nd litter alone. much cheaper this way!

DJ Mammo on August 08, 2017:

This little has little or no absorptive properties. Solid waste, even though covered with litter, stays moist and sticky and is very difficult to remove from the scoop. Too messy. Went back to our old litter.

Sad KittyMomma on August 02, 2017:

OMG. I am fearing the worst! Google "is clumping litter safe for cats" - one line says if injested, it can be fatal.

Well, my kitty has slowly gotten sicker since we switched to Slide. She's going to the vet tomorrow. I hope its not too late for my baby girl. Stay tuned . . .

Minnesota55 on July 15, 2017:

This litter really works. I have two negatives. One it cost so much and second I hate the smell of the litter. Maybe they can make a way so it does not smell so terrible.

Myrna Parker on July 13, 2017:

My prayers have been answered, A litter that doesn't stick to the bottom of the litter box and is literally dust proof. I presume the minerals that make up most of the ingredients in Slide are safe for Cats because Slide Litter is a keeper.

Wade on July 01, 2017:

I'm not sold on this new cat litter. Very soon after changing too this cat litter, my cat became ill. She would throw up her food within about an hour after eating. After a day & half I took her to the the vets. Blood word & through exam, no cause could be found ($270.00 total). Then I got to thinking about the change of litter. I changed her back to the previous litter. Within a day & a half, no more throwing up. Been fine ever since. Anyone else have noticed this problem with their cat.

Miss B on June 23, 2017:

This stuff is discussing and definitely not worth the price or the hype! First, it made our cat sneeze, over and over. And no, he has never sneezed before when using any other little. This "stuff" turns into slime and becomes nothing short of a sticky, greasy mess to deal with. And fights order for 1 week? Ha! No way - mixed with the scent it smells horrid after the first use. Save your money, add some baking soda to the litter box and realize it is what it is....

Jean London on June 12, 2017:

It's the most amazing litter on the market! Arman Hammer Slide makes perfect clumps and it never sticks to pan. It last much longer than other cat litter I've tried! I was a big fan of Fresh Step / Febreze for many years, but no more! This special Arman Hammer Slide wins hands down! I urge you to try it!!! You will be amazed at how superior this litter truely is! Many THANKS Arman Hammer!

jrp on June 12, 2017:

I love Slide! The flowery smell is ever so slight, but I still wish there were none, as I have slight asthma. So relieved there is no dust! None at all!! The very fine grains do come out of the box a little but that is expected. My only concern as always, is not knowing, when the kitties lick their paws, what is going into their systems. I would like to be assured there is nothing harmful in the product. Perhaps a phone call can clear that up with Arm and Hammer. Expensive? Not really when purchased at Wal-Mart for $8.50. It lasts a decent amount of time. All in all, good job Arm & Hammer!! The lack of dust is a major plus for my and my kitties lung health!

Brenda Wentland on June 11, 2017:

I like Slide but do not like the cost and it takes too much to fill the litter pan. Will look for a more economical litter.

texann2000 on June 06, 2017:

I love t is Slide but it is way too expensive. Takes a whole box to make 2-3 inches they tell you to use.