Great Websites for Dog Lovers: Reviews and Ratings

Updated on November 12, 2017
AliciaC profile image

Linda Crampton is a biology teacher, writer, and long-time pet owner. She currently has dogs, cats, and birds in her family.

Sam and his frisbee
Sam and his frisbee | Source

Dog Websites

There are numerous websites for dog lovers on the Internet—so many, in fact, that it can be difficult and time consuming to discover the best ones. Dogs have been an important part of my family for many years, so I'm very happy to find so much dog information online. Like many other people, though, I'm often busy. I like to go directly to useful information on the Internet instead of searching for it. I've bookmarked some dog sites that I find both interesting and helpful. In this article I'll review each site and give it my personal rating.

All the sites have information about caring for dogs, training them, and understanding their behavior. They also have photos, videos, and news. Some provide information about the different dog breeds as well. Most of the sites include information about other pets in addition to dogs. Since I have dogs, cats, and birds, a website that covers multiple types of animals is very useful for me.

Screenshot of the pet care section of the ASPCA website
Screenshot of the pet care section of the ASPCA website

ASPCA

The website of The American Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (ASPCA) is very helpful. As would be expected, it has important sections on preventing animal cruelty, adopting pets, and helping animals in trouble, but it also has a lot of information about caring for a pet. Dog or cat care can be chosen from the "Pet Care" link at the bottom of the home page. Visitors can learn about dog health and nutrition requirements, get help for behavior problems, and discover grooming techniques.

One big advantage of the ASPCA site is the section called the Animal Poison Control Center. This section has a long list of toxic and non-toxic plants for dogs, cats, or horses. It also mentions other potentially dangerous substances in a home, including human foods. In addition, it describes emergency treatment for poisoned pets.

ASPCA has a hotline that can be called at any time—365 days a year and 24 hours a day— if someone suspects that their pet has been poisoned. According to the website, there "may be" a credit card fee for the consultation service, however. If you're a pet owner, you should find out where the nearest emergency pet clinic is in your community and make sure that you know how to get there. It may be necessary to get your pet to a vet quickly instead of getting advice over a telephone.

How to Clean a Dog's Ears, from an ASPCA Vet

ASPCA publishes frequent news articles about pet and farm animal concerns. Visitors can sign up for a newsletter. The organization has a Facebook page, a Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, and Google Plus account, and a YouTube channel. These sites enable visitors to comment on news items.

Screenshot of the Dogster website
Screenshot of the Dogster website

Dogster

Dogster has an attractive home page, which it calls a "magazine". The magazine captures visitors' attention with a large, colorful photo and an accompanying article link. Below these are photo thumbnails and links to other articles on the site.

There are tabs at the top of the page that link to different topic areas on the site. These areas include a Video section, a Book of Dog page, an Answers to Questions section, Photo Galleries, an Adoption section and a Community area. The home page also has a sign-up box for the newsletter.

The Book of Dog tab on the home page links to informational articles about dogs and their care. The Community tab takes visitors to areas such as questions and answers, forums, and group discussions.

Visitors can comment on posts at Dogster. The site is updated frequently and the Community area is active. I enjoy visiting the website in order to learn more about dogs and to be entertained.

Dogster has a popular Facebook page as well as other social media accounts. It also has a YouTube channel. The YouTube videos are several years old, however. The earliest ones include a person travelling around in a dog costume as well as some other antics that seem a bit silly to me. They do contain some good information, though.

Screenshot of the Vetstreet website
Screenshot of the Vetstreet website

How to Teach the Leave It Command

Vetstreet

Vetstreet is run by an organization that provides services for veterinarians. The website states that its articles are written by "veterinarians, trainers, and pet experts". One of the vets is Dr. Marty Becker, who appears on TV and is sometimes referred to as "America's Veterinarian".

The home page of the website has interesting photos and links to informative articles. The top of the page has tabs that let visitors go to a dog page or a cat page. Other tabs link to sections on pet health, pet care, and training. Visitors can sign up for a newsletter. A potentially useful feature of the home page is the "Find a Vet" tab, which lets people search for a vet in their area by entering a zip code.

The site has extensive information about dog breeds. It also has a "Find a Breed" section. This allows visitors to select certain features that they would like in a pet dog and then see suggestions for suitable breeds.

People can comment on posts on the Vetstreet website and can also share the posts. However, unlike Dogster, the site has no forum. Vetstreet has a YouTube video channel and social media accounts. The video collection is extensive and very useful. Many of them show Mikkel Becker (Dr. Becker's daughter) teaching owners how to train their dog.

How to Prepare Your Pets for a Disaster, by Marty and Mikkel Becker

Vetstreet has a Facebook page and a Twitter account, but at the time when was this article was last updated, neither social media account had been updated since April, 2017.

Screenshot of the Webvet website
Screenshot of the Webvet website

Webvet

Webvet isn't as comprehensive as the other dog websites that I describe and isn't as feature-rich or as visually interesting, but it does contain some useful articles and covers some unique topics. There is a small section on holistic care for pets and another one on pet travel. Webvet has a few articles about small mammals and birds in addition to dog and cat information.

The home page has photos that link to articles about pets. At the bottom of the page are links to the different topic categories on the website as well as to articles and blog posts. Some of the articles are more relevant to vets than the general public, however.

The site has information about different health problems and different dog breeds, a collection of videos, and a box to find a local vet when a visitor enters their zip code. In addition, it has a section where visitors can download "Pet-Pods", which are pdf files about pet health. Visitors can also sign up for a newsletter.

Webvet contains a considerable amount of helpful information, but it has one major drawback. At the time of this review, neither the website (as far as I could tell) nor its Facebook page had been updated recently. The site is useful as a static resource, however.

The Webvet site says that its information is vet approved. A visitor should probably check any important information that they read with another site due to the age of the articles on Webvet, however.

Owen (a chocolate lab) stalking an insect when he was a puppy.
Owen (a chocolate lab) stalking an insect when he was a puppy. | Source

Symptom Checker

Another feature of the home page on the Webvet site is a "Symptoms" link. Clicking this link causes a symptom checker box to appear. When a visitor types in the name of a symptom, a list of articles containing the name appear.

The search box on the other dog websites works the same way as the Webvet symptom checker box, returning articles that refer to "vomiting" if this is the search term, for example. In fact, Webvet has a conventional search box as well as a symptom checker box. The conventional box returns the same search results as the symptom checker box, according to the tests that I've performed. The problem with calling a search box a "symptom checker", in my opinion, is that it might give the box an air of authority, especially on a site with "vet" in its name.

I would hate for someone to enter one of their pet's symptoms in the symptom checker box and then based on the articles that appear on the screen decide that the pet's problem isn't serious. The information that the box returns may be valuable and accurate for the pet's situation. A serious symptom (or a minor one if it lasts for a long time or occurs repeatedly) should be checked by a vet, however. On its "About Us" page, Webvet says that it "does not diagnose or recommend treatment".

Screenshot of the AVMA website
Screenshot of the AVMA website

The First Aid and Pet Care Pages of the AVMA

Much of the American Veterinary Medical Association website is aimed at veterinarians, but some pages were created for the general public. One of these pages covers dog and cat first aid procedures and describes how to treat poisoning, seizures, fractures, bleeding, burns, choking, heatstroke, shock, lack of breathing, and lack of a heartbeat.

The AVMA page is very useful, but it's important that all dog owners know about first aid techniques before an emergency happens. The first aid aid instructions should be printed out and kept in a safe and easily accessible location. They should also be read frequently so that they can be remembered.

The AVMA website has a general pet care page which contains links to other useful pages for pet owners. These pages cover topics such as vaccinations, medications, and pet insurance. The links also go to pages about pet care in special circumstances, such as during hot weather or holiday celebrations like Christmas.

Owen as an adult
Owen as an adult | Source

My Ratings of the Five Dog Websites

All of the above websites have lots of very useful information for dog owners and I enjoy visiting them. I do prefer some of them to others, however. Of course, you may have a different opinion about the sites, but my star ratings are as follows.

  • The ASPCA website receives my five star rating due to its very useful poison control center in addition to its extensive dog care section and the fact that it gives people a chance to help animals. In the past I've had to take a dog to an emergency care center (with a happy outcome, I'm glad to say), so I'm very interested in websites that give advice for preventing and dealing with emergencies.
  • I won't rate the AVMA website as a whole, since it isn't aimed at the general public, apart from some sections. However, the pet first aid page alone is worth 5 stars in my opinion.
  • The Dogster and Vetstreet sites receive a rating of 4.75. They are fun and interesting to visit and contain lots of useful information.
  • The Webvet site receives a rating of 4.0 because although it has useful articles I don't find it as interesting as the sites above. I'm also uneasy about the symptom checker box. In addition, the website doesn't seem to have been updated recently.

Misha
Misha | Source

Vote For Your Favorite Dog Website

Which dog website is your favorite?

See results

The only website described in this article that deals entirely with dogs is Dogster. (The creator of Dogster has produced a similar site for cats called Catster.) Dogster is a popular site and has a lot of followers on Facebook. All of the sites that I've reviewed contain helpful information for dog lovers, though. I think that they are definitely are worth visiting.

References and Resources: The Websites

Questions & Answers

    © 2012 Linda Crampton

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • AliciaC profile image
        Author

        Linda Crampton 5 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

        Hi, Nature by Dawn. Dogster is an interesting and informative site. I visit it quite often, although not every day! Thanks for commenting.

      • Nature by Dawn profile image

        Dawn Ross 5 years ago

        I like all these but I visit Dogster most often, almost daily. :)

      • AliciaC profile image
        Author

        Linda Crampton 5 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

        Thank you, Denise. I appreciate your visit and your kind comment very much!

      • Denise Handlon profile image

        Denise Handlon 5 years ago from North Carolina

        A big congratulations to you, Alicia! What a creative topic you've chosen. And, as usual-well presented and filled with interesting information. :)

      • AliciaC profile image
        Author

        Linda Crampton 5 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

        Thank you very much, savingkathy! I appreciate your comment.

      • savingkathy profile image

        Kathy Sima 5 years ago from Ontario, Canada

        What a great hub! You've included so much useful information for dog owners. Thanks for compiling all of this information. I will definitely be checking out some of these sites.

      • AliciaC profile image
        Author

        Linda Crampton 5 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

        Thank you for the comment and the congratulations, ktrapp. It's very nice to meet you!

      • ktrapp profile image

        Kristin Trapp 5 years ago from Illinois

        What a great resource for pet owners. You've introduced me to a few sites that I have not ever looked at before but certainly will do so now. Also, congratulations on receiving one of the weekly wins for the review contest.

      • AliciaC profile image
        Author

        Linda Crampton 5 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

        Thank you for the wonderful and kind comment, GoodLady! I appreciate the vote, the share and the rating so much!

      • GoodLady profile image

        Penelope Hart 5 years ago from Rome, Italy

        Congratulations on your very well deserved win! your Hub is so informative and full of legitimate, reliable information, videos and photos (and resourceful for pet owners generally). Top stuff. Pinning and voting and sharing. And I rated 5 stars too. Everyone forgets to do that!

      • AliciaC profile image
        Author

        Linda Crampton 5 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

        Thank you so much, theclevercat! I used to be more of a dog person than a cat person, but after I found two abandoned kittens some years ago I became a cat person as well.

      • AliciaC profile image
        Author

        Linda Crampton 5 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

        Thank you very much for the comment and the congratulations, CarlySullens!

      • theclevercat profile image

        Rachel Vega 5 years ago from Massachusetts

        Great!! Even though I consider myself a cat person, I appreciate dogs as well... those intelligent but goofy faces always make me smile. :^) Congrats on the contest win!

      • CarlySullens profile image

        CarlySullens 5 years ago from St. Louis, Missouri

        Great hub, packed with lots of information. Congratulations on your win.

      • AliciaC profile image
        Author

        Linda Crampton 5 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

        Thank you very much, teaches! I appreciate all your comments and support.

      • teaches12345 profile image

        Dianna Mendez 5 years ago

        I caught this earlier but wanted to stop in to leave a comment on how much I enjoyed the advice and photos. Keep up the great posts, Alicia !

      • AliciaC profile image
        Author

        Linda Crampton 5 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

        Thank you so much for the visit, the comment and the votes, sgbrown!

      • sgbrown profile image

        Sheila Brown 5 years ago from Southern Oklahoma

        You have listed some really great resources here. I am definitely going back and bookmarking some of these. You videos are great, as well as your pictures. Good job! Voting up and useful. :)

      • AliciaC profile image
        Author

        Linda Crampton 5 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

        Thank you very much for the comment, Peggy. I appreciate the share as well!

      • Peggy W profile image

        Peggy Woods 5 years ago from Houston, Texas

        Hi Alicia,

        I am very familiar with the ASPCA website but the others were new to me. Thanks for introducing these websites to me and others. They are certainly useful depending upon what type of information one might be seeking. Liked your pet photos! :) Sharing!

      • AliciaC profile image
        Author

        Linda Crampton 5 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

        Thank you so much for the lovely comment, the votes and the share, Tom! I appreciate your visit.

      • kashmir56 profile image

        Thomas Silvia 5 years ago from Massachusetts

        Awesome review, enjoyed your hub and all these great doggy sites ! Well done ! Vote up and more !!! SHARING !

      • AliciaC profile image
        Author

        Linda Crampton 5 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

        Thank you, Martie. I appreciate the comment and the rating! Some people do become extremely attached to their dogs. It's interesting that dogs can fit into families so well.

      • MartieCoetser profile image

        Martie Coetser 5 years ago from South Africa

        Excellent hub, Alicia. I think my love for dogs is normal and even below-average comparing to some of my friends who literally live for - and through - their dogs. I really would not mind being a dog in their homes.

        Hub rated 5 out of 5 stars :)

      • AliciaC profile image
        Author

        Linda Crampton 5 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

        Thank you, aviannovice! I appreciate your visit and comment.

      • aviannovice profile image

        Deb Hirt 5 years ago from Stillwater, OK

        These are all terrific sites. You did a great job finding all this useful material.

      • AliciaC profile image
        Author

        Linda Crampton 5 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

        Thank you very much for the comment, drbj, and thanks in advance for sharing the hub with your friends. It does sometimes seem that the dogs are the owners. Many of them certainly have a sense of their own importance!

      • drbj profile image

        drbj and sherry 5 years ago from south Florida

        This is chock-full of great ideas and stuff for dog owners, Alicia. I plan on sharing your hub with all my friends who own dogs. Although in most cases I have noticed it's the dogs who are the owners.

        Hmmmmm! So that's what a kong is. :)

      • AliciaC profile image
        Author

        Linda Crampton 5 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

        Thanks, Bill. I think you'll find the sites interesting!

      • billybuc profile image

        Bill Holland 5 years ago from Olympia, WA

        Great review, Alicia. I have bookmarked several of these sites and will check them out shortly.

      • AliciaC profile image
        Author

        Linda Crampton 5 years ago from British Columbia, Canada

        Thank you for the visit and the comment, bdegiulio! They are fun websites to explore, and they're so useful.

      • bdegiulio profile image

        Bill De Giulio 5 years ago from Massachusetts

        Great job Alicia. Was not aware of all of these great web-sites for dogs. Will definitely have to bookmark this for future reference.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, pethelpful.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://pethelpful.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)