Guide to Buying Andis and Oster Dog Clippers

Updated on March 21, 2016
A guide to the best Andis and Oster dog clippers.
A guide to the best Andis and Oster dog clippers.

Choosing the Right Dog Clippers

I've been grooming dogs part-time for about five years now, so it's safe to say I know my way around a pair of clippers. Over the years, I have tried several different models and learned their advantages and disadvantages. Hopefully, this guide will help you find the best clippers for your dog's specific needs.

When it comes to clippers, two brands run the game: Andis and Oster. Both are high-end brands, so both will be covered in this article, although I have had more personal experience with Andis.

If you have personal experience with any of the models mentioned or you believe that there are clippers that should have been mentioned, please leave a comment to help others.

Andis

I have owned several Andis clippers over the years, and they're the ones I tend to see being used most by other groomers. Andis makes incredibly durable clippers that will last practically forever.

Clippers are an investment—they will save you grooming costs for years to come. However, they come in a range of prices. You should let how frequently you plan to use your dog clippers determine the amount of money you are willing to invest.

Andis is hands-down one of the best names in the business when it comes to dog clippers, and they continue to impress with new products and great customer service. All of the clippers I have seen from Andis have detachable blades (handy if you have dogs with different coats), so I did not include that in my descriptions. Here's a list of my top three, ending with my favorite.

3. Andis Two-Speed Pet Clipper

The labradoodle before getting groomed with the Andis Two-Speed clipper.
The labradoodle before getting groomed with the Andis Two-Speed clipper.

These clippers (featured in this article's pictures) are very quiet and can cut through just about anything. As anyone who has tried using human-hair clippers on animals can tell you, dog and cat hair is much tougher than ours, so anything besides high-quality equipment will jam up. You can alternate between two speeds on this clipper—2,700 and 3,400 strokes per minute (spm).

This clipper comes with a #10 UltraEdge blade (this is Andis's stainless steel line). If you are only cutting your own dog's hair, this should be fine. If you intending to cut hair for more than 20-minute stretches, beware that the blade can heat up. When this happens, you can either turn it off and let it rest on a cold surface or use a cooling spray. Alternatively, you can buy a CeramicEdge blade, which heats up more slowly.

As for the durability and use of this clipper, it comes with a 14-foot chord and sturdy body.

Conclusion: This is truly a heavy-duty dog clipper that will last you for years. I highly recommend it for larger breeds.

2. Andis PowerGroom

Having quiet clippers is especially important when trimming around a dog's face. The clippers pictured here are also the Andis Two-Speed, but the PowerGroom has a similar noise level and operates more quickly.
Having quiet clippers is especially important when trimming around a dog's face. The clippers pictured here are also the Andis Two-Speed, but the PowerGroom has a similar noise level and operates more quickly.

The Andis PowerGroom is one step above the normal two-speed. While they weigh the same amount, the PowerGroom functions much faster (though only at one speed) at 4,500 spm. The PowerGroom also has the benefit of coming with a #10 CeramicEdge blade instead of a stainless steel one.

Other than that, it is very similar to the normal two-speed. It is very quiet and can run hot if you run it for extended amounts of time. To solve this, you can purchase Andis's Cool Care Plus or a similar cooling spray.

Conclusion: The Andis PowerGroom clipper definitely lives up to its name. The lightweight and powerful tool makes grooming a breeze. However, you must determine whether the added speed is worth the approximately 50 percent increase in price.

1. Andis AGC Two-Speed Pet Clipper (A.K.A. The Super Two-Speed)

While trimming your dog, you may need to use different blade sizes for different parts of the dog's coat. It will likely take a lot longer for you to trim your dog than it would for a professional, so a lighter clipper can be beneficial.
While trimming your dog, you may need to use different blade sizes for different parts of the dog's coat. It will likely take a lot longer for you to trim your dog than it would for a professional, so a lighter clipper can be beneficial.

This is my favorite clipper from Andis. It is lighter than either the normal two-speed or the PowerGroom, and you can really feel the difference in your wrists after a while.

What's more, these clippers are so quiet that you can trim your dog or cat's fur without it even flinching—perfect for sensitive animals. It also runs at a remarkably cool temperature, though the blade can still get hot with time.

What's more, it does not cost much more than the PowerGroom!

Conclusion: The AGC two-speed is an incredibly versatile and durable dog clipper. It is great for dogs that require a quieter clipper.

Oster

There are many groomers who swear by Oster clippers, but I have not used any personally. The first clippers I purchased were Andis—I was very satisfied, so I just stuck with them, and they have yet to do me wrong. But Oster also has many great reviews all over the Internet, so here are the two most highly-rated clippers and what I have heard about them.

2. Oster Turbo Two-Speed Clipper

The labradoodle after getting groomed.
The labradoodle after getting groomed.

This clipper has changed very little in the past few decades. Many groomers today first encountered the Turbo in college and have just stuck with it. It has two speed settings, 3,000 and 4,000 spm. Like the Andis clippers, these come with a #10 blade and can get hot with use.

Conclusion: The A5 Turbo is a straight workhorse and is virtually indestructible.

1. Oster Powermax Two-Speed Clippers

A before and after shot of the labradoodle.
A before and after shot of the labradoodle.

Some reviews have had problems with the durability of these clippers. They are rated more lowly than any of the Andis models, but at four out of five stars, their rating is not terrible. They are quick (3,700 and 4,200 spm) and as as lightweight as the Andis two-speed or PowerGroom. Unlike the old-school Oster Turbo, this clipper is also contoured to fit your hand. Surprisingly, both the Powermac and Turbo have comparable prices.

Conclusion: Great clipper for at-home use, very lightweight and powerful for the toughest coats.

Which Brand is the Best? Andis vs. Oster

With over 1,200 votes, Andis came in as the fan favorite with over 60 percent of votes.

I restarted the poll to get a more current view, and Andis has grown slightly in popularity, sitting at approximately 65 percent of votes.

Place your vote below for the best clipper brand:

See results

How to Choose Your Blade Size

Large and small dog breeds may require different setups.

I own a standard poodle and he requires a heavy duty clipper. I use the Andis PowerGroom dog clipper for his thick coat, and it has been working great for about two years now. Granted, most clippers could work for any dog, but it might be more convenient to have a smaller setup, like the light-on-the-hand AGC two-speed, if you mainly trim smaller dogs.

What really differs in your setup is your blade size. You select your blade size depending on how long you want your dog's hair to be—the lower the size number, the longer the hair. The #10 is offered with all of the clippers listed above because it's the most commonly used blade (it will leave your dog's hair 1/16" long).

For a poodle, you will want to use a #3/4 to a #7 blade (leaving 3/4'' to 1/8'' of hair) for the body and a #10-30 (leaving hair 1/16'' to 1/50'' long) for the more closely shaven parts.

It's also helpful to know that every clipper brand uses universal blades, meaning a Andis blade will work with Oster and visa versa.

Blade Size Chart

Size
Hair Length (in Inches)
Hair Length (in Millimeters)
3/4
3/4''
19 mm
5/8
5/8''
16 mm
3 3/4
1/2''
13 mm
4
3/8''
9.5 mm
4 1/2
5/16''
7.9 mm
5
1/4''
6.3 mm
7
1/8''
3.2 mm
8 1/2
7/64''
2.8 mm
9
5/64''
2.0 mm
10
1/16''
1.5 mm
15
3/64''
1.2 mm
30
1/50''
0.5 mm
40
1/100''
9.25 mm

Home Grooming: What to Really Expect

Now, I'm not trying to burst your bubble, but I must warn you: While incredibly economical, grooming your dog at home is not easy. Regardless of the clipper set up you have, this is still a tough job.

The reality is that, depending on the size of your dog, you could have a project that takes several hours to complete.

So be ready!

Before starting a clip, be sure to have the proper equipment on hand and set up properly. Here is a quick checklist:

  • Dog clippers
  • Blades
  • Clipper oil
  • Combs
  • Scissors
  • Ear-cleaning supplies if needed
  • Appropriate shampoos
  • Plenty of free time

You don't want to break off more than you can chew when clipping your dog. Some people even prefer to space the clip out over a few days. It can be a really physically demanding process, so make sure you give yourself the necessary space and time before committing.

Best Dog Clippers
Best Dog Clippers

Final Thoughts and Feedback

So after reading and responding to literally hundreds of comments, I wanted to address some common questions and misconceptions. And please keep the comments and questions coming so this process can be ongoing—your input is greatly appreciated.

1. Ceramic blades stay cooler then all metal blades. Don't hesitate to go with ceramic.

2. The clippers on this page will work for a wide range of dog breeds and sizes. Both the Andis and Oster lines will get the job done.

3. Clipping dog hair requires a high-powered clipper, settling for cheaper brands won't work. So don't waste your money!

4. If you have blade size questions specific to your breed or desired clip, ask your local groomers and they should be glad to help you.

What Your Experience With Dog Clippers? Have Any Questions?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Mary payne 2 weeks ago

      I have just purchased a Andis AGC super 2 speed which came with a blade size 10 and a blade size7FC. I have a cockerpoo and don’t know what blade size I need. Would the ones I have be ok or would I need to get more, as the blades are expensive I didn’t want to buy more if I didn’t need to but if I do any idea what size?, somebody mentioned on another page a 5 or a 7 HELP PLEASE

    • profile image

      Bernies Mum 7 months ago

      I have used the Oster A5 Turbo. Very disappointing. they heated up so fast that they couldn't be used for long. the housing also heated up. Lasted about 6 grooms before throwing them away. Have purchased Andis AGC 2 speed. Hoping for a better product.

    • profile image

      Pamela Lack 10 months ago

      What clippers will neatly trim my heavy coated papillon' feet? Most clippers push the hair aside and in won't go in between The blades.

    • Jamie N Charter profile image

      Jamie N Charter 11 months ago

      I was just given the Andis ultra edge special edition 2 speed for Christmas. I am trying to get clipper combs for it. The ones I ordered are too small even though it says they work with A5 detachable blade clippers. I bought the small Andis plastic clipper combs. Any ideas on which ones I should get? I'm a home groomer who groom's my 3 dogs. Any help would be great since I'm trying to figure out just about everything to do with grooming

    • profile image

      KWeb 15 months ago

      I have a Lhasa Apso cross Maltese and his hair is like cotton wool (very soft, fine and mattes easily), I live in western QLD Australia, temperatures extremely hot in summer, we are too far away from a dog groomer and need to purchase clippers - which would be the most suitable and what type of blade - this is all new to us?

      Thanks in advance for any info!

    • profile image

      Hans Aberg 17 months ago

      Very informative blog !!! But I am afraid while using the lens of this clipper. This can harm my dog also. However, I will try to use it very patiently, so that that they doesn't get harm.

      Regards

      Hans Aberg

      http://britishgritjackrussellterriers.com/

    • profile image

      CactusLady 19 months ago

      Don't believe anyone that tells you , you shouldn't shave long haired breeds in the summer. They will tell you that the insulation will keep them cooler. That is not true, and it is not even logical. That's like saying if I where a winter down filled coat in the summer it will insulate me and keep me cooler. To the person that posted above that has this mentality, have you ever seen a long haired thick coat dog in the southern states during the summer. I don't know when this myth started but whom ever started it was an idiot. I have a chow mix large farm dog in S.C. and if I did not shave her she would come down with heat stroke here in the south. So, to the lady with the great Pyrnees don't hesitate to shave your dog. I had one dog breeder of the American Spitz tell me if you shave your American Spitz, that the dog will be embarrassed of how he looks!! Crazy pet owners.

    • profile image

      Pepsi 22 months ago

      I have a question. I was looking on ebay for a pair of clippers. I found a nice looking set for just my price range but I'm not sure about the model. It just says Andis MA-1. Do you know anything about this model? The lady said it was to powerful for her 8 lb poodle but that might not mean a whole lot to me since I need them for my goldendoodle. Will this model be able to do what I need it to? I don't want to waste my money buying something that definitely won't be heavy duty enough. Thanks for any help!

    • profile image

      Juan 2 years ago

      Karmin, Karmin, Karmin!

    • profile image

      Johnf603 2 years ago

      I need to input, like a bunch at the same time as I hadn't the benefit of examining everything you had to declare, I couldnt rally round on the contrary elude draw your attention before long. The as if you needed an excellent grasp on the subject bffkddeadfed

    • profile image

      Georgie 2 years ago

      Great info ,

      I have a chinese crested so mostly hairless but he has some fluff patches on his body. I want to buy some clippers for home. Mainly trimming his face , legs and sparse patches on his body. I like to trim is short (to the skin to keep the sleek look). I am an ex vet nurse and only had experience with Oster clippers for surgical clipping. What clippers would you recommend? I wave a budget of around a $100. Do you think I can find anything for this?? Many thanks in advance.

    • profile image

      marilou 2 years ago

      I would like to groom my Shih Poo at home, because he needs grooming every 6 weeks. I am happy to buy the Andis 22360 AGC Super 2-Speed Professional Animal Clipper with Locking Blade. I'm not clear if I need to buy additional blades. I like him a little fluffy, but close on his face. I am a first time dog owner and will have an experienced friend help the first time. Am I taking too much on?

    • profile image

      Tony1111 4 years ago

      It seems that the cheapest site to buy dog clippers is from amazon but they have 110 volt US plugs. Has anyone used them in Australia using an adapter. Thanks Tony

    • profile image

      Melezell 4 years ago

      @anonymous: I too thought the Oster Powermax would be the one that would take me through on our English Cocker Spaniels. Exact same problem, and it is not drop safe when you are trying to clip a moving target.

    • profile image

      Geni758 4 years ago

      I use the Oster Powermax 2-speed clipper to clip my Schnauzer. It does a very good job of getting through his thick hair and cutting through his occasional matts. I am well pleased with this clipper.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: I have a German Shepherd that I clip myself, he has a rather thick coat, maybe not as thick as your Samoyed, but I use Wahl KM2 clippers, I have been using them for 5 years now and no dramas, only need to get blades sharpened, you get what you pay for with clippers, as long as you maintain them they should last a long time. Dont waste your time and money on cheap clippers, go for the professional ones in any of the brands people mention, you would be looking at investing from $100 upward.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Then started using Andis 5 speed which I loved. I want to start grooming on my own instead of for someone else. The Andis5 is too expensive for me @ this time and the blades do heat up very fast now.(they didn, t until a couple months ago) So I'm thinking about the Power Groom until the one post stated the drive quit working. I need powerful cool running clippers for less than $150.00 if possible. But again thanks for this site and all the comments!

    • qikey1 lm profile image

      qikey1 lm 4 years ago

      Oooooh...I have some experience with this :) I have a Great Pyrenees and a Husky mix. The Husky mix has very wiry bristly fur with a phenomenal undercoat...The Pyrenees has so much fur... omg..but it is soft and silky with a wooly undercoat. I use an Andis Clipper and I just recently bought a ceramic blade. For any large dog owners go for the ceramic blade absolutely as it is impossible to get the job done without the dogs getting too hot!! Any dog can be clipped with these clippers- including humans. I have a son with really thick hair that I use the dog clippers on because the human ones we have are not good enough quality to handle his hair...shhhh... don't tell him I told you ;D Oh and I guess I would have to say it is certainly a big job but for us perfection is not the goal. I just want them to be comfortable in the humid summers. One final suggestion is that for dogs that are outside a lot...I would recommend clipping them in the spring to avoid them getting a sunburn...or take extra care until their fur grows back a bit ;) Great topic for a lens! Obviously there are many pet owners looking for this info!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      great site gave alot of useful info thks

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: thise dogs arent ment to be shaved it probably looked choppy because it was that hair just does not cut smooth

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: Don't feel alone. I did the same thing, that's why I'm reading this

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: I decided to do the same as you, paid a lot of money for a clipper that I expected to see me out, only had it 3 years with less than 15 hours use in all that time, it has been looked after and the blades kept sharp. Do not purchase a Oster PowerMax.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: Thank you for your useful information concerning grooming! I have a terrier mix and I need to learn to groom him BUT my budget is very limited. Your ideas?

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I own a long haired German shepherd with very thick long hair . She is very hot in the summer time , so last year I paid a lady to cut her , not impressed at all so I'm gonna give it a try myself . Would like any help on what to invest in for this application . Thanks in advance for all advice .

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: Thanks, Julie! That is exactly what I thought when I read that comment!!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: Make sure your dog is clean before trying to shave also. I can ruin a blade on my shepherd because of her oily, dandery skin if she hasn't just had a bath.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I've got two Australian Service Dogs, Labrador-sized, non-shedding. One has sheep-like fleece that mats unless it's kept really short the other has more agro-type spirally hair. I can't afford the £80 every 6 wks and reading all these comments I'm going to buy an Asti with 2x #10 & #4 blades. Do I need the comb attachments? Are the cord-free clippers as good as the corded ones?

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: I have owned my two Sammys for 6 years, they are inside / outside dogs. I clip them three times, once in the spring, summer and right before it gets cold out. They love it, keeps them cooler and cleaner. yes their skin is very,very sensitive. If you clip yourself, you must have multiple blades, keep extra sets in the freezer and keep swapping them out , when shaving them.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I purchased Oster Power Max clippers and found that they would not do the job. Not powerful enough. Just over a year old and the casing broke out and I could not use them. I contacted Oster and they sold me a new casing. I Would not buy Oster again. Stick with Andis- They're the best.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Someone help, I have a bernese, german shepard, husky mix and need to trim his coat. His is aggressive at the groomers so we need to trim him at home due to skin infections in the summer. What clippers are going to get through his extremely thick coat?

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I bought a Wahl Contour kit with attachments, combs and scissors. It was an absolute joke. Blades dull quickly inspite of cleaning and will not cut through my Lhasa Apso's coat. Really disappointing. Sharpened the blades and they lasted for one cut. Junk.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I would like to take a class or get a degree,

      Or learn how to groom dogs professionally. I have been grooming my own for 30 years and think it's about time. What would you recommend?

      The range of tuitions are confusing, as re the choices of online classes!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I have a yellow lab with a very thick coat.

      Which clipper and blade set up will work the best for my dog

      Thanks

      Frosty

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Haven't purchased a dog clipper yet, but your comments and info has been most helpful

      Thanks

      Frosty

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I have had 2 pair of Oster A5 2 speed clippers

      In both sets the screw comes loose on one side on the clippers where the blade attaches. They also start to run hot. At one time they were well made, years ago I have to say I'm not reccomending Oster. I have 4 toy poodles

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: Which Oster did you buy? looking to clip our Bernese as well.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: I'm an American and you should know there is an asshole in every race, religion, country and creed so please think before you speak. Not cool. Just saying...

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: As a professional groomer I also wouldn't recommend shaving a Samoyed but under certain circumstances I would still shave one. However, this is very hard hair cut to give. I would recommend the Wahl KM2 clipper its noisy and gets hot fast but it works well with thick coats.

    • BowWowBear profile image

      BowWowBear 4 years ago

      I have to concur with your reviews and advice. Get the best clipper you can afford. The groomers I know swear by the andis powergroom. Thanks for sharing some extremely helpful info!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: You need to oil the blades.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: You run a animal rescue and your breeding more dogs! OMG you are CONTRIBUTING to our problem! I foster pekinges and there are so many that already need homes, please stop this madness!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: Samoyes need their coat to protect them from the sun and cold. When you shave down a dog like that it will not provide a good coat. He will grow a thinker undercoat making more dander ( odor). I would recommend a Furmanator for you. It is a type of comb. You will get the undercoat out once a week. Then in the summer you will need to use the comb alittle more.

      I groom dogs and when I tell someone not to shave a Golden, Malamute, or Sammy. The owner will do what they want in the beginning or understand that I do care and love dogs. If you do shave you will always have to brush like this then shave. More work. It will take you 6 hours to shave and 2 hours to comb. Once you have a schedule of combing every week you will have to use less time. In the beginning do this outside. If you shave use a #7 or a #5. Not the head or the lower legs or the tail. Watch the tuck ups ( under arms, loose skin around the top of the back leg) areas that cut easy. Don't ruin a Samoy by shaving please.

      Dinah

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      We have 5 Standards. I use the A5 for heavy duty and the Andis for most of the other lighter work..ALL the blades are ceramic ss or regular ceramic..They run cool and cut clean. There is a certain amount of prep, ie washing, drying, precombing and knot removal, detangling sprays BEFORE U try to clip the dog..If U don't.........Nothing will go thru the hair and U will terrorize the animal

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: If you rake out some of the coat first to get the dead shedding hair out it will make a world of difference also try the Whal storm 2 or Andis 5 speed clipper...

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I have been using an Andis Easy Clip (pink) on my Bichon Frise for about 3 years now! It comes with a

      10 blade, a 7FC blade, and a 4FC Blade. I keep the blades oiled and I have a good time grooming him.

      He's about 17 lbs. and I use the 4FC on the back and a 7FC on the rest. I've saved a lot of money and he looks good!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: You should never clip a Sammy. Not only do their coats keep them warm in winter, but also cool in the summer. They also have very sensitive skin that needs the protection of their coats.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I have a standard poodle with a very thick curly coat. I own an Andis and Oster Turbo A5 2 speed. Both clippers get very hot. I want to purchase a new clipper, but want one that really runs the coolest. What is my best choice?

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Hey!

      I have a Samoyed and the only way we can keep him is if his coat is clipped as my son has severe asthma. I would like to start clipping him myself.

      What would you reccomend as the best clipper to get for him? His coat is extremely thick.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: Hi Leslie: Small Animal means dogs as opposed to cows or horses.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I just bought the Andis mbg2. It was around $90 and has one speed. My dog has a really dense undercoat about 3/4" thick and about a 3 to 4 inch overcoat. He's a mutt so I would say his coat is collie/lab. very oily too. My dog hadn't been trimmed in over 6 months.

      I set everything up and was really excited to do this myself. The clippers got into the hair and just bogged down. It sure didn't clip like the video. I was only able to make small bites and had to go over the same patch over and over. I think they are supposed to work better.

      They may work fine on dogs with lighter coats so, I'm not bashing the clipper. I think Its under powered for my dog. So do yourself a favor spend another $50 to $100. This one is going back and getting a more powerful one.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      got any suggestions for a standard poodle mix with shepard and chow in her? Her coat gets very long in winter. I see where you recommend the Andis Power Groom clipper, but it says it's for small dogs. Also, I might add she hates being groomed with clippers (noise I suppose), so the quicker the better.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Inherited a small long-har chihauhau type dog so purchased Oster clipper recommended by the pet supply store we frequent. Unfortunately, at this time the blades either need to be sharpened or replaced and have been advised that because they were made in China, unable to sharpen due to the lack of quality and have been unable to find replacement blades for this clipper. Guess we'll be looking at the Andis clippers.

    • profile image

      AugieDoggy 4 years ago

      Which clippers would you suggest for trimming the fur between the pads of the feet? I have two golden retrievers and currently use professional clipper made for humans, but the blade is a bit too wide to do a good job. Thanks!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Tx for this review. I groomed wire fox terriers snousers tea cup poodles & finally MY white Standard poodle. Who just died at 13 this summer. I miss him terribly. I loved grooming h. Sure did take all day! I had an old Oster with alot of trouble with it at the end. I will probably go w Andris when I get my next one hope your beautiful classy superbly groomed Standard lives a very long time. They are people! Gwen

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: this has also happened to me. The blade gets very hot when trimming our Maltese Shitzu cross dog. Could I please have advise why the blade gets so hot . I have 2 blades and I have got to swap them over, so there is a reason, could somebody please advise me why I have this problem.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I have a 16 pound Sheltie mix. I have tried to groom her at home in the past with $40 clippers. It did not work. As you well know, Sheltie hair is THICK! What clippers would be the best to use. Keeping a reasonable price is essential.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: Hi all I just purchase and andis super agr cordless clipper I have two cockapoos one is very curly and the other is finer hair, It came with 10 blade, what blades should I buy to keep them groomed maybe about an inch long or so,,and should i purchase the comb set, or is that a waste of time..Thanks for your input? Teresa

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: I lost the screws from my Oster clippers once and I got replacements from Diamond Edge who also sharpen my blades.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Hi Linda. If it were up to me I would use a #4 blade on either an oster or andis clipper. Get the professional model. They are expensive, but after a couple of uses, they will pay for themselves. If your pekes are in real bad shape, you may have to use a #7f blade that will take them much shorter, but will get under the mats without pulling. Hope this helps, JoAnne at josmppr.com

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I run a non profit animal rescue. In order to fund the dozens of dogs I rescue I started breeding pekinges. As u know they have lots of soft silky fur. WHAT clippers do u recommend. I live on a huge farm so these little guys come home with bures and more matts then the average city peke LOL.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: I have 3 Shih Tzus that I groom but the Wahl clippers get really hot. I can't afford $100 clippers...got any suggestions ?

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Thank you for creating these reviews. I am so happy I read this article because I had no idea what to choose from, or what I even needed. I have an Aussie Labradoodle. Her hair grows faster than grass lol and she has been groomed by a pro every 4 weeks! That is a lot of money and it is really catching up with me. I think with the help of a book or dvd and a great grooming tool, I really can do this! Thanks bunches :)

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: The abusive comments (on this only barely useful site) should be deleted.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I bought a £40 Wahl dog clipper not really knowing what I was doing but it just pulls the hair rather than clips it. Luckily my dog is patient with me! I have taken your advice and ordered an Andis professional clipper. Its worth the investment when it costs £39.00 every 10 weeks to get her groomed professionally. We are moving to Denmark where it is even more expensive that the UK to pay for grooming so I believe it will be a good investment. My dog will be so relieved if the new clippers are as good as the reviews. Many thanks for your advice.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I have a 2 Morkies and a Yorkie. I usually have them professionally groomed but I recently lost my job and can't afford to keep up by taking them to the groomer constantly. I'm interested in doing it myself at home but I'm not sure which clipper would be best for me. I prefer to have them cut as short as possible since their hair grows so fast.

      Jacob, I found your website to be extremely helpful and definitely worth checking into. I appreciate you taking the time to inform the average pet parent about the different clipper options available.

    • spids lm profile image

      spids lm 5 years ago

      great lens love this!

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      i have found this site very interesting /still confused !

      One thing is for sure i need good clipper as i have maltese/shitz and their hair is so soft,

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: It could be anything from the blade being sharpened or being regularly oiled, oiling them while grooming the dog helps tremendously!, just a few drops of oil on the teeth while the blade is running. If they are not well lubricated they won't cut very nicely if not at all - also keep in mind to keep them clean and hair free, meaning after clipping slide the teeth from side to side with your fingers and brush the hair between the blade with an old paint brush or something along those lines, and keep them oiled even when not in use as blades will rust and if the rust goes into the teeth you can no longer use them, also disinfectant is important.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: He sounds like an american.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      i have been looking to groom my dog for a while and finally decided to take action. after checking a few sites out i still couldn't make up my mind on which dog clippers i should get, but this page definitely solved my problem. ultimately i went with the oster a5 single speed clipper, i think it would be a great start for starters like me and for anyone looking to start grooming dogs on their own. there is also a site that gives tips on maintaining clipper blades, you can check it out here at www.thebestdogclippers.com

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: The Oster A5 is top of the line. You can't go wrong. I had one lesson from a 20-year professional show dog shower. They groom the animals they show. That was in about 1996. She recommended Oster A5 as the best. We've been a two standard poodle household and the same clippers are going strong. I don't like the new ceramic blades though. Some people do but, I find they don't cut as well as the old standards.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Hi, just read your article and found it to be informative. I was glad to see that you did mention that grooming your dog yourself is hard work not to mention dangerous if you don't know what you are doing. Since I have been grooming for 25+ years, I've seen my share of "home grooms" and though the people think they will save money, they don't if they have to come to me to fix the problems not to say a trip to the vet if they cut the dog. My advice to home groomers is to ask their local groomer for advice. If their groomer won't help, keep checking on the internet or visit someone like me or others like me to get some pointers. You can go to my site at josmppr.com for other tips and tricks. Keep up the good work. Your site looks very professional and well organized.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I just bought an andis ultraedge 2 speed clipper, it cut good, but it gets so hot so fast! The blade that is. I have a little shih tzu & I could do only1 &1/2 legs & it was too hot. I tryed cooling spray. I ended up putting a comb on to finish so it wouldn't burn her.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: I agree with Clipit... though if you really want to use snap-ons get metal ones...i live by them in my salon... very very awesome for longer coats... but the coat has to be free of matting and use with a #30 blade!!! A #10 and a comb isn't going to do the job as you experienced! :)

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: In my experience the ceramic blades don't cut well...I tried them in my salon and hated them...seem to pull the hair and not cut easily! :( Try going to a steel blade! Good luck! :)

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: ask the groomer you have been taking her to. Im sure she will tell you what blades and scissors or whatever she used to get the cut you seem to like. I asked my groomer about doing my dog myself and she had an old pair of oster clippers she gave me! supre sweet lady. they did well and eventually I bought andi they are much quieter.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I have an old professional grade Oster clipper that has done great, but the last time I tried to use it the blade I generally use wouldn't cut through my poodle's hair. I figured my blade was wearing out, but I read online it could be the clipper. The clipper sounds normal when I switch it on, how do you determine if it is the blade or the clipper malfunctioning? Where do you all get your clippers and blades serviced or do you just buy new when they act up? I also would like to comment that my husband bought 2 cheap clipper sets at yard sales for me and they do NOT work well, in fact, I have cut my poodle trying to use them and they are noisy. One of them says "Oster" but is labeled "made in China". I'm guessing it is bogus. It also makes a loud humming noise, not anything like my good Oster clippers. I would rather toss them in the trash than sell to anyone else who might cut their dog trying to use them. I've NEVER had any cutting incidents using my good clippers so I would suggest when you buy a set, but a professional grade set.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Hi there, I was thinking in buying the Oster at Amazon from America, can I use in Australia without burning the eletrical advice?

      Thanks

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I have a ten year old English Cocker. She is mostly all white with orange freckles. Her fur is very soft and matts easily if it grows at all. Sorry to say I do not brush her every day as I probably should. Have groomed her myself some and my clippers just don't seem to want to do the job anymore. They are Wahl pro series. I am thinking I should upgrade to better clippers, but if there is just something I can do to the ones I have (sharpen blade or something), I would do that in order to save some money. She needs grooming at least every other month and I just cannot afford to have it done professionally.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: Goldendoodles are a mixed breed thus have no breed standard. So you can use any blade to achieve the length you want. Having said this I use a 4f on a lot of my doodle clients.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Are the andis power grooms you reviewed the five speed or the two speed. Because I just bought a five speed power groom and they are absolute Shit. After one dog the motor stopped driving the blades. And when it did drive the blades they got so hot so fast I was changing blades every two mins. And the clippers themself got so hot I could barely hold them. But... They cut like a dream for that first dog.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Have you used the cordless kinds? Any reviews on them?

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: where is the link you mention as I have a Golden Doodle and am interested in grooming her at home. Thanks

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I have Andis clipper with the ceramic blades, they haven't over used, I have poodles, but now the aren't cutting, seems like they are just pulling on the hair, struggling to cut? They range from 3 lb to 10 lb , it seems as they have got older their hair texture has changed, courser. I have the #10 and 7f blades. Do I need new blades or sharpen, I have no idea who does that. They hace go so contrary, don't being groomed at all, and I have done them since birth... Tired of me I guess. Any ideas would be really helpful. Thanks, Nancy. Is there something one can get to make them relaxed while grooming.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @jakealoo: I was really hoping to see the answer to bot's question about the difference between 22340 & 22360! I have the same question.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: When you want a shorter cut for your Goldendoodle you should use blades. I think it is much easier than the clip combs (and blades won't pop off like the clip combs do if you get stuck in a tangle/mat). Here is a link with a guide on which blade to use. If you want to get about 1/2 then I'd suggest using a #5 blade (clipping with the grain of your dog's coat). And a #3 blade will leave about an inch if you go with the grain. For a beginner I would highly advise cutting against the grain because it is more likely to cut your dog. Also the link and most other guides show the measurement of the length for each blade by what length is left when you go against the grain of the coat. The higher the number of the blade the shorter the coat will be! I would use clip comb on the head of your dog after you cut the body. I hope this helps!!

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Does anyone have advice on what blade size you would use to clip a GoldenDoodle? I own the Oster turbo A5 2 speed clipper. Thx

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      Hey I have read a lot of the post here and am still confused on what I needed to figure out.. I own the Oster turbo A5. 2 speed trimmers. I have a GoldenDoodle and have been trying to trim her on my own. I have a #10 blade and have been trying to use a 1 inch comb attachment . It's a long process and I feel like I need to change blade sizes and at times when I want to take her shorter than an inch long what size comb attachment like the half inch? I am more confused on the blades, which size works best on this type fur and for use with these two (1 and the 1/2 inch) comb attachments? Thanks !

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: I am a groomer and your concerns are valid and pertinent. I have seen dogs who have been sliced....(it doesn't happen often if you know what you're doing and the angle of the blade against the animals body and which part of the body determines how you adjust the angle of your approach). However, when it does happen it's a nightmare...I never had it happen to me but I am a professional groomer. The thing is once a dogs skin is torn vertically it just opens and opens and opens. Their skin is thin and like rice paper...It's a horrible thing. No person should just pick up a clipper and apply it to any animal without at least some basic training....Good Call.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I have just bought a bichon frise what which clipper would you advise i buy and i understand why you would buy the extra length setting clips but why would you need to buy different blades

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I know it's common sense to most but I think this should have a disclaimer about grooming safety as it is really easy to cut/injury a pet by trying to groom at home. Be sure to read up on safety precautions. If your pet is heavily matted is recommended that they are taken to a professional groomer or vet since matting can cause skin irritations, open sores, flea nests and so on. Again I'm not trying to be a prick but you want to make sure your pet will be safe.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: Where do you get the instructions to line the blades properly

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @nithyaprasadbala: I found a great grooming video on you tube. Search cockermom. She does a series on grooming and clipping a cocker and tell s you what blades and scissors to use :)

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      All Right, I am ready to take the dive and get some better clippers. I tried shaving my golden retriever a few months ago with a cheap wahl pair and it was a disaster to say the least. She turned out VERY splotchy. I didn't realize that (maybe) all I need a better pair...

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I have a heavy duty Oster with an assortment of blades.I cut my std poodle 4x a year. Been grooming him for 4 yrs. I start out with a nice cutting swath and after several hours, the clipper will get bogged down in the thick coat. I cut him evenly, no puffs. Do the blades need replacing or sharpening?

    • profile image

      nithyaprasadbala 5 years ago

      I have a cocker spaniel, black, the hari around her ear and around her excreting area get terribly matted. I have an Oster A5, I am not sure which blade to use. Is it #7 blade? The equipment get so hot and it is noisy, scares my girl a bit, but a constant reassurance is required. Imagine a huge drilling noise in your ear, wonder how terrible she feels. ....

      How often should I groom her?

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I have an old english sheepdog... Everyone reccomends oster but i like the look of the andis ones. My dogs hair is thick at the base but thin and whispy at the ends. I want to clip her to a puppy cut. I can't decide which ones to get ..

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @blinddogsupport: Andis clipper is really very good,You can also try other brand,e.g. Sirree

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: If you are a first time user make sure your blade is lined up correctly if that isn't the problem take them back

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @clayva: Hi clayva - which clippers did you buy? I also have a goldendoodle and would love to know if they worked for you.

    Show All Categories