How to File Complaints Against Bad Veterinarians in Each State and Territory

Updated on March 18, 2018
Source

Take Action: File a Complaint With Your State's Veterinarian Board

You can file a complaint with your state's or territory's associated veterinarian board.

Only your state's licensing board (made up of roughly six to ten experts, depending on the size of your state) has total jurisdiction over a veterinarian’s license.

List of Websites for Filing Complaints Against Veterinarians by State and Territory

Alabama — Hawaii

Idaho — Missouri

Montana — Pennsylvania

Puerto Rico — Wyoming

I spent hours researching sites for this article to make sure you have the most up-to-date links for each U.S. state and U.S. territory. Unfortunately, some state websites don't provide complaint forms.

Each state has a different procedure for filing vet complaints. State vet complaints may be directed to or through any of the following:

  1. The appropriate department (e.g. Department of Health Services)
  2. The state agency
  3. Complaint submission process: Online, paper form, or by calling a complaint hotline.

Use Your Phone to Call

Each state has some type of consumer division or department that can take your complaint online, but you can also call to talk to a complaint specialist, complaint intake coordinator, or intake investigator. Their job is to help you through the process. You may also fill out a form and mail it in with your backup documentation, if that works better for you.

What Happens When a Complaint Is Filed Against a Vet

The Board, following a decision, can choose to do the following:

  • The Board may institute a cease-and-desist order to the vet (not the practice). A cease-and-desist is a temporary injunction that suspends the vet's activity until a trial can be held to determine whether they can continue practicing veterinary medicine. After the trial, the court could decide to issue a permanent injunction.
  • The vet may be fined.
  • The vet's records may be reviewed for the subsequent year.
  • The Board may encourage the vet to reimburse you (including travel expenses or expenses for corrective care or surgeries). Unfortunately, they cannot mandate the payment.

Signs of a Bad Veterinarian

If your pets are treated by a veterinarian, I am assuming you pay good money for preventative care, as well as medical and health appointments and surgery. If you have a bad experience, you may discuss the bad quality of service with your veterinarian in person, in writing, or on the phone. These bad experiences can include anything from realizing your dog or cat is in pain or having an allergic reaction to medicine to not healing properly after a surgery.

Here are some signs that a vet may need to be reported:

  • They may become disgruntled or challenge your statements of concern.
  • They don't ask how your pet is feeling after you complain about a complication. If this happens, you will instantly know that they are putting their own needs ahead of your pet's needs.
  • They have poor bedside manner.
  • They display unprofessional conduct.
  • They provide substandard care.

Conclusion

If you have a complaint against your veterinarian, please do not wait. Each state has their own rule regarding the statute of limitations (a certain time limit after the vet appointment within you can file a complaint). I highly encourage you to call the (800), (866) or (888) number listed on the state government's website, fax in a complaint question, or email the appropriate department.

You are not only helping yourself and your pets, but you are helping protect your community members from being ripped off by unethical vets. You are also protecting other animals from injury, additional medical complications, being prescribed improper medications, defective surgeries, future health issues, and bad medical appointment experiences.

I hope this information proves helpful to you and your pet! You are now empowered to help others by sharing this information so you can protect your community from bad veterniarian practices.

Have you ever filed a complaint against a veterinarian?

See results

Questions & Answers

    Comments

      0 of 8192 characters used
      Post Comment

      • profile image

        Arpita 5 weeks ago

        I had a german spitz she was suffering from dehydration we took her to a doct she gave wrong steroid for which we lost her

        Im frm orissa plz help me out to file a case against her

      • profile image

        Maria 2 years ago

        Hi - thank you for the thorough list, however, I live in the state of Ohio and the website states they have no jurisdiction over bedside manner or business conduct. Can you recommend another agency? Thanks for your help.

      • profile image

        doggielover2 2 years ago

        Im so glad I found your page, I just got done sending off my letter to the BBB and your page helped my find my state complaint form. My dog is gravely ill this week. I had to go to another vet mine was out of state this week. She diagnoised my dog with Gastric Ulcers after 2 hours and $230.00 later. An yet wanted me to spend another $185.00 for more tests. Next day my dog was worse, she said " I can make her better but you cant afford it" (explained to her, I just couldn't afford anymore) walking away feeling guilty. My vet got back the next day and I rushed her in 5 minutes in his office he feels masses in her tummy, sure enough with no tests needed and one xray, he did surgery and removed an enormous life threatening6lbs of infected uterous. ( a private rescue dog we thought was fixed and never went into heat)..surgery was cheaper then what I spent on tests I didn't need...and he has set me up on doable payment arrangements. The bad Vet refused to help me out in anyway. She was bout filling her pockets not my animal. Not only did I get bad Vet, bad heartless comment, bad diagnosis, wrong medication, un-needed costs, my vet said My dog was within hours of death. She is recovering tonite at my Vets and even though she is in grave condition he is optimistic she has a chance of surviving. We pray her other organs have not suffered to much...So I have my state complaint form in from of me that will go out this week, and my BBB is already submitted. Thank you for helping me learn what I needed to do.

      • profile image

        brenda moye 2 years ago

        a vet killed my dog im a mess in missouri, have to get justice for tiger dont know what to do.... heart is forever broken

      • MarloByDesign profile image
        Author

        MarloByDesign 2 years ago from United States

        Kelli, you are welcome and I appreciate the kind words. There are a lot of great vets out there, but too many bad vets too!

      • profile image

        Kelli 2 years ago

        Thank you for putting this page together. . Too many vets are taking advantage of people and treating their pets poorly, I thank you so very much for making it easy to understand and to file a complaint so we can all sleep more soundly at night knowing that bad vets are being reported.

      • MarloByDesign profile image
        Author

        MarloByDesign 2 years ago from United States

        Melissa, I just updated the link to 'File a Complaint' to the State Board of Veterinary Medicine in Colorado!

      • profile image

        Melissa 2 years ago

        Im in Colorado. Who do i speak to concerning an invasive eye exam on my horse?

      • profile image

        SukiStory 4 years ago

        MarlobyDesign, excellent info. I have been writing online about the subject of BadVets and how to file a board complaint for 14 years. The more info people have, the better. Thank you for adding your voice to this very important subject. For more info vetabusenetwork.com/filecomplaint.htm

      • profile image

        JusticeFor Charlotte 5 years ago

        Your information was so helpful....I am fighting to get justice for my cat who was diagnosed with cancer and had her leg amputated. After the amputation, the vet found out the mass was benign. I was misadvised to go forward with an UNNECESSARY AMPUTATION. Please read my story: www.justiceforcharlotte.blogspot.com

      • profile image

        Wilkie 5 years ago

        I would like for someone to contact me about a complaint and what to do - my e-mail is sorawilkie@mail.com or I would rather be contacted at my address:

        3305 Savannahs Trail - Merritt Island, Florida 32953 OR

        Phone (321) 454-9980

      • 2besure profile image

        Pamela Lipscomb 6 years ago from Charlotte, North Carolina

        This is great information. I have always had good experiences when taking my cats to the vet. Many people don't have good experiences. I never tough of reporting them. Great hub!

      • MarloByDesign profile image
        Author

        MarloByDesign 6 years ago from United States

        ktrapp, yes, I agree that as pet owners we hope to find great vets for their care. If not, at least we have options and do not have to feel at the mercy of "bad medicine". Have a safe experience!

      • ktrapp profile image

        Kristin Trapp 6 years ago from Illinois

        This is very informative. I had no idea each state had online vet complaint forms. I am about to take my dog to the vet this week, hopefully I won't need to follow your good tips, but if I ever I needed them I know where to turn. Thanks!

      • MarloByDesign profile image
        Author

        MarloByDesign 6 years ago from United States

        Thanks Multiman, that means a lot!

      • profile image

        Multiman 6 years ago

        Great hub, good information for people who have had pets mistreated and bad medicine from a Vet. Voted Up.

      • MarloByDesign profile image
        Author

        MarloByDesign 6 years ago from United States

        Thank you Simone. Yes, please share this information!

      • Simone Smith profile image

        Simone Haruko Smith 6 years ago from San Francisco

        Wow, this is an amazing, helpful guide! I'll have to share this with my pet-owning friends.

      • MarloByDesign profile image
        Author

        MarloByDesign 6 years ago from United States

        tlpoague, thank you for your comments and yes, please share this Hub with anyone you know who has had vet issues. Hopefully, they will thank you later!

      • tlpoague profile image

        Tammy 6 years ago from USA

        I have bookmarked this for future use. Thanks for posting a hub about the abuse of vets. I, myself, haven't had too many issues with our local vet, but I do know of a few people that have. Great hub! Very useful! I gave this one a vote up!

      • MarloByDesign profile image
        Author

        MarloByDesign 6 years ago from United States

        Sounds like a great idea and I thank you. I do not even want to think about the pictures that could be associated with those horrible experiences, may leave that part out.

      • tsadjatko profile image

        TSAD 6 years ago from https:// www.consumeraffairs.com/ online/ hubpages. html

        "Real life horrible experiences with vets" GREAT IDEA! If I had thought of it I'd create a hub just for that! I'll send you some of my experiences in email - maybe you can use them. My pleasure!

      • MarloByDesign profile image
        Author

        MarloByDesign 6 years ago from United States

        tsadjatko I truly appreciate your comments - I read them twice and they confirmed why I wrote this Hub in the first place (based on my personal experience with a really, really bad vet who almost killed my dog). Please feel free to stop back anytime and add your experiences or thoughts...I am thinking of adding a section in my Hub entitled "Real life horrible experiences with vets". Again, ty for your feedback and I am glad to know I am not alone here.

      • tsadjatko profile image

        TSAD 6 years ago from https:// www.consumeraffairs.com/ online/ hubpages. html

        This is such a good hub page! I have worked for veterinarians and used them throughout my life and I have to say they are, as a group the most money grubbing, deceitful gang of "professionals" I have ever encountered. Of course there are exceptions to that rule, but I can honestly say I have only met one in 50 years and 5 different states. I have encountered everything from blatant disregard for laws (like regularly throwing euthanized dogs in the garbage instead of incinerating) to charging clients for autopsy of an animal they killed! I could do a long hub page on what I have encountered! Chances are if you are happy with your vet it is because you don't know enough about what they are doing to know they are taking advantage of you! Like charging $50 for a puppy shot (that of course includes $25 just for the office visit) when you can buy and administer it yourself for $4.00.

      working

      This website uses cookies

      As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

      For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://pethelpful.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

      Show Details
      Necessary
      HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
      LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
      Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
      AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
      Amazon Web ServicesThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
      CloudflareThis is used to quickly and efficiently deliver files such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
      Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
      Features
      Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
      Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
      Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
      MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
      Marketing
      Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
      Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
      Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
      Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisements has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
      Statistics
      Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
      ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
      Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)